Mark the date! April 25th next KCL-LSHTM Critical Global Health Seminar ‘Consuming Animals’ with Jan Deckers, Newcastle University

Please join us for our next KCL-LSHTM Critical Global Health Seminar on Consuming Animals, which will take place at LSHTM on Tuesday 25 April 2017, 4-5.30 pm, in the Jenny Roberts Room, 15-17 Tavistock Place, London WC1H 9SH.

DeckersJan Deckers, Senior Lecturer in Bioethics at Newcastle University, will discuss research presented in his recently finalised book on the ethical issues associated with animal products, Animal (De)liberation. Should the Consumption of Animal Products Be Banned? London: Ubiquity Press, 2016. Jan will be joined by discussants from LSHTM and KCL.

The Critical Global Health Seminar Series

Jointly organised by King’s College London (KCL) and the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM), the Critical Global Health Seminar Series brings together critically-minded social scientists, public health experts and practitioners together to debate key areas of concern for global health today and reflect on how these should be approached and explored. The seminars are organised as a platform for social scientists working in the field to present and reflect on their current and planned research in discussion with the chair-discussant and the audience. More broadly, the aim of the series is to provide a forum to discuss emerging contradictions and frictions in global health research and policy as well as the challenges and opportunities these present to social scientific inquiry. Through open-ended and candid exchange on the experiences of working in the global health field, we seek to develop new avenues for critical thought in the social sciences and beyond.

Programme for the Spring and Summer Terms 2017:

  • Consuming Animals, 25 April 2017, 4-5.30 pm, Jenny Roberts Room, LSHTM, 15-17 Tavistock Place, London WC1H 9SH | Speaker: Jan Deckers (Newcastle University) | Discussants from KCL and LSHTM.
  • Anti-Microbial Resistance, 16 May 2017, 4-5.30 pm, John Snow Lecture Theatre A, LSHTM, Keppel Street WC1E 7HT | Speakers: Dr Nicolas Fortané (KCL) and Dr Coll Hutchison (LSHTM) | Discussant: Dr Clare Chandler (LSHTM).
  • Mental Health, 20 June 2017, 4-5.30 pm, KCL | Speaker: TBA

For further information, please contact one of the organisers: Dr Clare Chandler (clare.chandler@lshtm.ac.uk), Dr Ann Kelly (ann.kelly@kcl.ac.uk), Dr Melissa Parker (melissa.parker@lshtm.ac.uk), Dr Clare Herrick (clare.herrick@kcl.ac.uk), Dr John Manton (john.manton@lshtm.ac.uk) and Dr David Reubi (david.reubi@kcl.ac.uk).

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Bioethics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s